Mindfulness can be practiced in so many ways and places. Just now as I was driving home from work, in the dark, on a busy road with road works, I was approaching my turn off. I noticed running at the side of the road a tiny little brown field mouse. This is through being aware in the present moment of where I am in the here and now. I am not that keen on mice, but, in this moment it was a beautiful thing to behold. 

Amongst very large machines, cars and road works, this brave little mouse is still going about his or her daily life, among all the hustle and bustle, usually unnoticed. How much can we feel like this mouse at times… I don’t know what this mouse was doing, but he could have been making a huge difference in his little world, feeding his family, going to the mouse shop for a treat for his wife, after she had a hard day with the baby mice, rushing to help another mouse have the confidence to cross the road home to his safe house… 

Humour, but, when we feel small and insignificant, mindfulness can allow you the space, time, and kindness, for yourself to slow everything down, and allow the feelings of compassion and significance to come back which you deserve for what you have done today. For example, if you smiled at one person today that has the power to change their worldview today. 

I also changed my route home tonight just so I could drive quietly and slowly over a dark mountain and see the bright stars from the darkness of that mountain road. It was calming and peaceful. How many people could have travelled that way and not stopped and noticed the creation all around us?

Stephen

img_1353
Free Image From Pixabay

7 thoughts on “How Small and Insignificant Are You?

  1. God, Stephen this is beautiful. Your sharing really opened my heart. Opening to kindness…. taking the time to pause and reflect … acknowledging ourselves for our contribution — all of these are so key in my experience to live in love. Thank you. My compassion is inspired and strengthened by your post.
    Blessings,
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

